The South Australian Screen Awards (SASAs) nominees for the 16th annual have been announced.

Among the nominees is the cult feature film One Eyed Girl, which has already taken out the Dark Matters Award at the Austin Film Festival and stars some of Australia’s rising stars including Sara West, Matt Crook, Mark Leonard Winter and Tilda Cobham-Hervey (52 Tuesdays).

Victoria Cox’s and Kirsty Stark’s Wastelander Panda and SBS Runaway winner, Ted and Johnny are also up for awards.

The SASAs are SA’s highest film accolades; awards which exhibit, celebrate, support and promote South Australian talent in the film industry and help local film-makers gain the attention of the established film industry.

unnamedMany previous SASA winners have gone on to garner further success:

  • Hugh Sullivan won best short in 2005 with Man Janson and his first feature, The Infinite Man premiered to acclaim at SXSW in Austin last month.
  • Sophie Hyde won best short in 2007 with My Last Ten Hours With You and took out best Feature Film at last year’s SASAs with 52 Tuesdays, that also won a Crystal Bear at the 2014 Berlin International Film Festival and her best director in the World Category at 2014 Sundance.
  • Ashlee Page won best short in 2011 for The Kiss, and won a Mahindra Global Filmmaking Award at 2014 Sundance.

The SASA’s play a significant role in seeking and supporting new talent and, Media Resource Centre Director Gail Kovatseff says help to launch the careers of film makers.

“With so much screen content available, the South Australian Screen Awards play an important role in recognising the best new talent in South Australia’s screen industry. For more than 15 years the Awards have given the next generation a platform to launch their reputation and careers,” she says.

With 17 categories – including Best Short, Best Feature, Best Documentary and Best Music Video – there is close to $40k worth of prizes to be won.

Winners will be announced at The Gala Award Night held at the Mercury Cinema on May 15th which is hosted by noted film journalist and SBS film presenter, Sandy George.

Click here to download the full list of nominees.