Legendary musician Tom Morello will release new album, The Atlas Underground on 12 October through Sony Music Australia.

TomMorello_TheAtlasUnderground_AlbumArt.jpgThe pioneering Rage Against The Machine and Audioslave guitarist has collaborated with everyone from Bruce Springsteen to Johnny Cash in a career constantly pushing into new territory. In this new project he teams up with an eclectic range of artists including Portugal. The Man, Marcus Mumford, Knife Party, Vic Mensa, Gary Clark Jr., Steve Aoki and the Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA and GZA. The resulting record covers a lot of ground, combining blistering riff-rock with EDM and hip hop.

“The riffs and the beats led the way, but the extraordinary talents of the collaborators set my creativity into uncharted territory. I’ve been devoted both musically and as an activist to fighting injustice at every turn,” says Morello. “Amid this heightened sense of impending doom, it’s now time to rally the troops in a last-ditch effort to save the planet, and our artistic souls. By challenging the boundaries of what music is and has sounded like before, you can open peoples’ eyes to changing the status quo in society.”

Check out lead track, “We Don’t Need You” featuring Vic Mensa here, and watch the trailer for the album:

The Atlas Underground can be pre-ordered HERE.

Photo supplied, credit: Eitan Miskevich