Set for release next month, Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National have curated a compilation album paying tribute to Grateful Dead, which also benefits the Red Hot Organisation.

Founded in 1990, Red Hot is a not-For-Profit organisation dedicated to fighting HIV/AIDS through pop culture.

The first tribute album curated for Red Hot was the Cole Porter record Red Hot + Blue, which raised millions of dollars and helped reduce the stigma around AIDS and supported many organisations to support those affected.

Started by Leigh Blake and John Carlin, the legacy has continued over the past 25 years with over 500 artists, producers and directors contributing to 20 compilation albums and donating millions to organisations around the world.

Released on May 20th, Day of the Dead took four years to record and features over 60 artists from varied musical backgrounds, 59 tracks and is almost six hours long.

The Dessners enlisted Grizzly Bear’s Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear along with members of their band The National to record their take of the iconic track, ‘Terrapin Station’ for Day of the Dead.

Listen to ‘Terrapin Station’

Five additional tracks have been made available with album pre-order on CD | iTunes | Google Play

The five songs include the first new music from The War on Drugs since 2014’s critically-acclaimed Lost In The Dream with a cover of the Grateful Dead’s 1987 hit ‘Touch of Grey’.


Phosphorescent and Jenny Lewis combine to cover 1971’s ‘Sugaree’.

Former Grateful Dead member Bruce Hornsby collaborates with Justin Vernon and DeYarmond Edison for ‘Black Muddy River’.

Courtney Barnett puts her characteristic slant on ‘New Speedway Boogie’.

The National cover Bonnie Dobson’s ‘Morning Dew’, a Grateful Dead staple since 1967, one of two songs that they contributed to the compilation.